H.E. Yongdzin Lopon Tenzin Namdak Rinpoché

Yongdzin Tenzin Namdak Rinpoche is the senior lineage holder of the Yungdrung Bon tradition. He is the precious master of all the teachers listed on this website, as well as the founder of Shenten Dargye Ling, the honorary President of its Congregation, and above all, the most beloved and venerated master of all the western Bon students who are connected with Shenten. From 2005 until recently, Yongdzin Rinpoche spent part of every year at Shenten where he offered teachings to students who felt called to travel there to be with him. Now, since Rinpoche´s advanced age doesn’t permit him to travel to Europe, many of his students seek opportunities to visit him at his home monastery in Kathmandu, Triten Norbutse, which he founded and which he continues to bless with the joyful presence and selflessness so typical of him.

2007-Yongdzin_Tenzin_Namdak-16.JPG
Tanka-LOPON%20et%20ses%20maitres_edited.

Tankas representing Yongdzin Tenzin Namdak and his two masters surmounted by Tapihritza

H.E. Yongdzin Lopön Tenzin Namdak Rinpoche is the current lineage holder of the Yungdrung Bön tradition and doctrine. He was born in the Kham province in eastern Tibet in 1926. At the age of seven he entered Tengchen Monastery to start his education. In 1940, at the age of fifteen, he went with his uncle to Yungdrung Ling, a leading Bön monastery in central Tibet.

 

At the age of seventeen, and very much against the wishes of his cousin, Rinpoche made the two-day walk to Menri Monastery, and was ordained. He was finally able to realize his dream of becoming a monk. He took his vows from Gyaltsab Tsakpe Gelong and the teacher Sonam Rinchen. He received the ordination name Tenzin Namdak, “The Guardian of the Essence of the Pure Doctrine of Buddha”.

 

From 1940 to 1942 Rinpoche helped his uncle to execute a series of wall paintings for the new temple in Yungdrung Ling making use of his training since the age of eleven as an artist and painter. In late 1942 he went on pilgrimage to Nepal and western Tibet, returning to Yungdrung Ling in mid-1943 to begin his studies in philosophy.

 

During 1944-1948 Yongdzin Rinpoche lived and studied with his teacher and master, Gangru Tsultrim Gyaltsan Rinpoche, who had retired as Lopön (principal teacher) of Yungdrung Ling. Much of this period was spent in a remote meditation cave at Juru Tso Lake in Namtsokha, northern Tibet, where Gangru Ponlob Rinpoche taught him grammar, poetics, monastic discipline, cosmology and the stages of the path to enlightenment according to Sutra, Tantra and Dzogchen.

 

In the end of 1948, he traveled to Menri Monastery in Tsang province, central Tibet, to complete his studies for the Geshe degree (the Tibetan equivalent of a doctorate in philosophy) according to the advice of his first master. His main teacher at Menri was Lopön Sangye Tenzin Rinpoche. In 1952 at the age of 27, he was awarded his Geshe degree, and he was also elected to succeed his master as Lopön of the monastery.

 

He retired from his activities as Lopön at Menri in 1957 due to increasing conflicts and Chinese communist pressure to the monastic life. He went to Sezhig Monastery on Lake Dangra - a sacred lake for the Bönpo - in northern Tsang, where he remained in personal retreat until 1960. Like tens of thousands of other Tibetans, Rinpoche tried to escape to India after the Lhasa uprising against the Chine Communist occupiers, but he was shot and held in Communist imprisonment for ten months before managing to escape over the Himalayan border to Nepal.

 

In his escape, Yongdzin Rinpoche was able to conceal the famous stupa of Nyame Sherab Gyaltsen together with statues, precious relics and other sacred objects in a cave at Lug-do Drag in the area of Tsochen, Tibet. During his escape he carried with him the precious volumes of the Oral Transmission of the Zhang Zhung Nyen Gyud and other texts to ensure their preservation for the future.

 

In 1961, Rinpoche was invited to London by his colleague, English Tibetologist, professor David Snellgrove. Under a Rockefeller Foundation grant, he became a visiting scholar first at SOAS, University of London and then at Cambridge University. The collaboration with professor Snellgrove resulted in the publication of The Nine Ways of Bön, which includes extracts translated from the esteemed Zijid  (The Magnificence), an extensive hagiography of the founder of Bön, Tönpa Shenrab Miwo. This was the first scholarly study of the Yungdrung Bön tradition conducted and published in the West. Rinpoche stayed in England for three years, until 1964.

 

During 1964-1967 Rinpoche strived to keep the Bönpo people and their culture alive in exile in India. In 1966 he succeeded to formally establish and register with the Indian Government a settlement for Bönpo refugees under the name of the Tibetan Bönpo Foundation in Dolanji in northern India. In 1967, with financial assistance from the Catholic Relief Service, he bought a piece of land, and started the settlement, school and monastery there. Around eighty families were transferred from Manali and each received a house and a small piece of land, the size depending on size of the family. 

After passing away of the spiritual head of the Bön community in exile, the 32nd Trizin (Abbot) of Menri Monastery, His Holiness Sherab Lodrö, Yongdzin Rinpoche facilitated the appointment of the 33rd Trizin of Menri Monastery, His Holiness Lungtok Tenpai Nyima Rinpoche in 1969 and his recognition as the official spiritual head of the Yungdrung Bön tradition. Yongdzin Rinpoche and H.H. Menri Trizin worked together to build the monastic community in Dolanji. Rinpoche focused also on writing, publishing, practicing, transmitting initiations and teaching the lamas and monks, as well as on tracing and preserving the tradition’s important texts and manuscripts during his years in Dolanji.

 

Upon the death of Lopön Sangye Tenzin in 1977, Rinpoche was given full responsibility for teaching the younger generation of monks. By 1978 a sufficient number of Bönpo texts had been collected and republished so that a curriculum could be organized around them. In 1978 the Dialectic School was established and organized under his guidance in Dolanji. In 1986 the first class of monks graduated from the Dialectic School with their Geshe degrees.

 

After having completely accomplished the Dialectic and Meditation Schools in Dolanji, Rinpoche founded a second monastery, Triten Norbutse in Kathmandu, Nepal, in 1987. A complete education of the Bön philosophy and general Tibetan sciences was set up in 1994, and until now over hundred students have graduated from the Dialectic and Meditation Schools of Triten Norbutse. In the late 1980’s Rinpoche also reintroduced the Bön doctrine and teachings in Tibet.

 

Yongdzin Rinpoche was the first person to give Bön teachings in the West in 1989. One of his main teachings have been Dzogchen, which is the highest and most profound meditation system in the Bön tradition. Rinpoche considered these teachings especially suitable for the westerners because they do not involve special cultural familiarity and they appeal directly to the mind.

 

At the beginning of 2001 Rinpoche established Shenten Dargye Ling in France for the preservation, research, teaching and practice of Yungdrung Bön. In 2005, Loel Guinness, a student and friend of Rinpoche generously donated the property for this new monastery in Blou, western France. The same year Bön was given the official recognition as a congregation and fully independent religion by the French government.

 

At Shenten Dargye Ling Rinpoche established a regular “gomdra”, or meditation school, giving westerners the opportunity to learn meditation and philosophy in the same systematic way that monks do in Bön monasteries.

2016-Yongdzin_Tenzin_Namdak-2.jpg

H.E. Yongdzin Lopon Tenzin Namdak Rinpoché

Yongdzin Tenzin Namdak Rinpoché est le détenteur de la plus ancienne lignée de la tradition Yungdrung Bon. Il est le maître le plus précieux de tous les enseignants répertoriés sur ce site web, ainsi que le fondateur de Shenten Dargye Ling, le président honoraire de sa congrégation, et surtout, le maître le plus aimé et le plus vénéré de tous les étudiants Bon occidentaux qui sont liés à Shenten. De 2005 jusqu'à récemment, Yongdzin Rinpoché passait une partie de l'année à Shenten où il dispensait des enseignements chaque été. Aujourd'hui, son âge avancé ne lui permet plus de se rendre en Europe, et nombre de ses étudiants lui rendent visite au monastère de Triten Norbutse qu'il a fondé à Katmandou. 

2007-Yongdzin_Tenzin_Namdak-16.JPG
Tanka-LOPON%20et%20ses%20maitres_edited.

Tankas représentant Yongdzin Tenzin Namdak et ses deux maîtres surmontés de Tapihritza

Biographie

S.E. Yongdzin Lopön Tenzin Namdak Rinpoché est le détenteur actuel de la lignée de la tradition et de la Doctrine Yungdrung Bön. Il est né dans la province du Kham, dans l'est du Tibet, en 1926. À l'âge de sept ans, il est entré au monastère de Tengchen pour commencer son éducation. En 1940, à l'âge de quinze ans, il est parti avec son oncle à Yungdrung Ling, un grand monastère bön du Tibet central.

 

À l'âge de dix-sept ans, et contre la volonté de son cousin, Rinpoché fait le voyage de deux jours jusqu'au monastère de Menri, où il est ordonné. Il a enfin pu réaliser son souhait de devenir moine. Il prononce ses vœux auprès du Gyaltsab Tsakpe Gelong et du maître Sonam Rinchen. Il reçoit le nom d'ordination Tenzin Namdak, "Le Gardien de l'Essence de la Doctrine Pure du Bouddha".

 

De 1940 à 1942, Rinpoché aide son oncle à réaliser une série de peintures murales pour le nouveau temple de Yungdrung Ling, mettant à profit sa formation d'artiste et de peintre acquise depuis l'âge de onze ans. À la fin de l'année 1942, il part en pèlerinage au Népal et au Tibet occidental, et revient à Yungdrung Ling à la mi-1943 pour commencer ses études de philosophie.

 

De 1944 à 1948, Yongdzin Rinpoché vit et étudie avec son professeur et maître, Gangru Tsultrim Gyaltsan Rinpoché, qui a quitté son poste de Lopön (professeur principal) de Yungdrung Ling. Il passa une grande partie de cette période dans une grotte de méditation isolée au lac Juru Tso à Namtsokha, dans le nord du Tibet, où Gangru Ponlob Rinpoché lui enseigna la grammaire, la poétique, la discipline monastique, la cosmologie et les étapes du chemin vers l'illumination selon le soutra, le tantra et le dzogchen.

 

À la fin de l'année 1948, il se rend au monastère de Menri, dans la province de Tsang, au Tibet central, pour y terminer ses études en vue de l'obtention du grade de Geshe (l'équivalent tibétain d'un doctorat en philosophie), selon les conseils de son premier maître. Son principal professeur à Menri est Lopön Sangye Tenzin Rinpoché. En 1952, à l'âge de 27 ans, il obtient son diplôme de Geshe et est également élu pour succéder à son maître comme Lopön du monastère.

 

Il se retire de ses activités de Lopön à Menri en 1957 en raison de la multiplication des conflits et de la pression des communistes chinois sur la vie monastique. Il se rend au monastère de Sezhig sur le lac Dangra - un lac sacré pour les Bönpo - dans le nord du Tsang, où il reste en retraite personnelle jusqu'en 1960. Comme des dizaines de milliers d'autres Tibétains, Rinpoché a tenté de s'enfuir en Inde après le soulèvement de Lhassa contre les occupants communistes chinois, mais il a été blessé par balle et emprisonné par les communistes pendant dix mois avant de réussir à s'échapper par la frontière himalayenne vers le Népal.

 

Au cours de son évasion, Yongdzin Rinpoché a pu dissimuler le célèbre stupa de Nyame Sherab Gyaltsen ainsi que des statues, des reliques précieuses et d'autres objets sacrés dans une grotte à Lug-do Drag dans la région de Tsochen, au Tibet. Pendant sa fuite, il emporta avec lui les précieux volumes de la transmission orale du Zhang Zhung Nyen Gyud et d'autres textes afin d'assurer leur préservation pour l'avenir.

 

En 1961, Rinpoché est invité à Londres par son collègue, le professeur David Snellgrove, tibétologue anglais. Grâce à une bourse de la Fondation Rockefeller, il devient chercheur invité, d'abord à la SOAS, l'université de Londres, puis à l'université de Cambridge. La collaboration avec le professeur Snellgrove a abouti à la publication de The Nine Ways of Bön, qui comprend des extraits traduits du très estimé Zijid (The Magnificence), une vaste hagiographie du fondateur de Bön, Tönpa Shenrab Miwo. Il s'agit de la première étude érudite de la tradition Yungdrung Bön réalisée et publiée en Occident. Rinpoché est resté en Angleterre pendant trois ans, jusqu'en 1964.

 

De 1964 à 1967, Rinpoché s'est efforcé de maintenir en vie le peuple bönpo et sa culture en exil en Inde. En 1966, il a réussi à établir et à enregistrer officiellement auprès du gouvernement indien un établissement pour les réfugiés bönpo sous le nom de Fondation tibétaine bönpo à Dolanji, dans le nord de l'Inde. En 1967, avec l'aide financière du Catholic Relief Service, il a acheté un terrain et y a ouvert un établissement, une école et un monastère. Environ quatre-vingts familles ont été transférées de Manali et chacune a reçu une maison et un petit morceau de terre, la taille dépendant de la taille de la famille. 
Après le décès du chef spirituel de la communauté bön en exil, le 32e trizin (abbé) du monastère de Menri, Sa Sainteté Sherab Lodrö, Yongdzin Rinpoché a facilité la nomination du 33e trizin du monastère de Menri, Sa Sainteté Lungtok Tenpai Nyima Rinpoché en 1969 et sa reconnaissance en tant que chef spirituel officiel de la tradition Yungdrung Bön. Yongdzin Rinpoché et S.S. Menri Trizin ont travaillé ensemble pour construire la communauté monastique de Dolanji. Rinpoché s'est également concentré sur l'écriture, la publication, la pratique, la transmission des initiations et l'enseignement aux lamas et aux moines, ainsi que sur la recherche et la préservation des textes et manuscrits importants de la tradition pendant ses années à Dolanji.

 

À la mort du Lopön Sangye Tenzin en 1977, Rinpoché s'est vu confier l'entière responsabilité de l'enseignement de la jeune génération de moines. En 1978, un nombre suffisant de textes Bönpo ont été collectés et republiés pour qu'un programme d'études puisse être organisé autour d'eux. En 1978, l'école dialectique a été créée et organisée sous sa direction à Dolanji. En 1986, la première classe de moines a reçu son diplôme de géshé de l'école dialectique.

After having completely accomplished the Dialectic and Meditation Schools in Dolanji, Rinpoche founded a second monastery, Triten Norbutse in Kathmandu, Nepal, in 1987. A complete education of the Bön philosophy and general Tibetan sciences was set up in 1994, and until now over hundred students have graduated from the Dialectic and Meditation Schools of Triten Norbutse. In the late 1980’s Rinpoche also reintroduced the Bön doctrine and teachings in Tibet.

 

Yongdzin Rinpoché a été la première personne à donner des enseignements Bön en Occident en 1989. L'un de ses principaux enseignements a été consacré au Dzogchen, qui est le système de méditation le plus élevé et le plus profond de la tradition bön. Rinpoché considérait que ces enseignements étaient particulièrement adaptés aux Occidentaux, car ils n'impliquaient aucune familiarité culturelle particulière et faisaient directement appel à l'esprit.

 

Au début de 2001, Rinpoché a établi Shenten Dargye Ling en France pour la préservation, la recherche, l'enseignement et la pratique du Yungdrung Bön. En 2005, Loel Guinness, un étudiant et ami de Rinpoché, a généreusement fait don de la propriété de ce nouveau monastère à Blou, dans l'ouest de la France. La même année, Bön a été officiellement reconnu comme une congrégation et une religion totalement indépendante par le gouvernement français.

 

À Shenten Dargye Ling, Rinpoché a établi une "gomdra" régulière, ou école de méditation, donnant aux Occidentaux la possibilité d'apprendre la méditation et la philosophie de la même manière systématique que les moines dans les monastères Bön.

2016-Yongdzin_Tenzin_Namdak-2.jpg